top of page

How to Set Up a Small Space to do BIG Business

Updated: Jul 16, 2021

The benefit of working from home... is BEING home. However you still need a home-office space in which to conduct your business.

Yes, I know. A HUGE perk of working from home is being able to plop down on the couch in the midst of the craziness which surrounds your life, propping up your laptop on your lap and "working".

But hear me out here, BOSSes....

You also need a space to get in the BOSS mindset to actually work.

Now don't get me wrong. There are plenty of times I grab my iPad or laptop or iPhone to follow-up or post on social media or fill-in-the-blank-biz-task to complete while making dinner or chillin' with the kiddos or while completing a fill-in-the-blank-mom-task.


Matter of fact, I'm writing this post siting on the couch in my living room while keeping my eye on my 17 year old son & his special lady friend who are watching college football during Christmas break while my dad is sleeping sitting up in the lazy-boy chair.


Good times.


And this is after all, the luxury of working from home.


BUT I also know when I treat my business like a profession, I get paid a professional income. When I have treated it like a hobby, it will cost me money like a hobby does. Feel me?


So here is your challenge for the day.


SET. UP. A. HOME. OFFICE. SPACE.


This does not need to be hard or take a bunch of your time or cost you a fortune while you order office furniture on Amazon.

Simply shop from your own home. Push up a table in front of a sunny window. Create a space in a corner of your living room. Move the furniture around in a guest room or spare room to carve out a space for YOU to build your business.

Here's a close up BEFORE shot of my office space, until I committed to having a mini-sanctuary where I could enjoy sitting at and getting my work done. It's a mess, I know. But we keep it real up in here ya'll.


Talk about a small space. Do you even see it up the in the left hand corner? My office is literally in a corner in my dining room. I mean with 7 kiddos I don't have any extra space anywhere. BUT my oldest is about to head to college & my boy/girl 6 year old twins will be moving into the "big kid rooms" to share with their brother & sisters. SO I will get my own office this summer *swoon*


So here is the AFTER shots of my space. So much better. And calming. And soothing.


Having a place to go to to sit, open your planner, and work on those income-producing activities during the cracks of your busy life WILL push your business forward. This simple action tells your mindset that you are "working." Check out this post that will help you establish goals for Work Life Balance & reduce overwhelm.


Speaking of sitting.... did you notice my new office chair? So comfy & on point for my brand colors. Ladies invest in a chair that is comfortable! So worth it!



Bonus Tip!!!

Turn your social media notifications off & turn a timer on for 15 minutes and intentionally focus on these essential activities. It's amazing what you can accomplish in 15 minutes of focused work.


Are you looking for some Home Office Inspiration? Check out my Pinterest Board titled that very thing.


Question of the Day:

If you currently have a home-office, what can you do to organize it better? Spruce it up to make it more inviting to be at? Do you need to add some fun decor or a comfortable chair? Try setting a timer every Sunday night or Monday morning to clean & organize it to be prepared for your work week.





Ready to truly LEVEL-UP & work 1:1 with me? Learn more here & apply today!


26 views0 comments
bottom of page